PDA

View Full Version : newbee bowhunter looking for some help

pse&remington
07-19-2011, 03:43 PM
I am new to the bow hunting world. I bought my bow last year and have shoot a fair amount at the range and am quite comfortable shooting pie plates at 40m.

I am currently planning an elk trip to cranbrook for the 3rd of Sept. I was thinking that they will be up high, in around the tree line and bedding down on the north facing cooler thick forrest.

We plan on heading up the Bull River just outta Cranbrook and was just wondering we have never been to the area and were looking for some confirmation that we are on the right track. Also hoping to do some Whitetail hunting and were looking for anyone with suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Im not asking for your secret zones just a point in the right direction would be a great help.

Bow Walker
07-20-2011, 10:54 AM
Get in touch with Hunter1947 on here. He's the type of guy who'll go out of his way to help people who are sincere.

He lives up in Cranbrook and spends the majority of his spare time out in the bush scouting.

PM him and he'll get back to you as soon as possible. Tell Wayne that Bow Walker sent you.

The Hermit
07-20-2011, 12:24 PM
The Bull River area holds lots of elk for sure and you're correct about their bedding habits. they are nearly nocturnal so plan to be in the trees at first light. Try to keep your shots to under 30 yards... hitting a pie plate at the range is a whole hellofa lot different than a nice flat range!

Bow Walker
07-20-2011, 04:05 PM
Start practicing your shooting under "hunting conditions"......by that I mean get your heart rate right up there to where you're huffing and puffing - then try to hit your pie plate at 40 meters. It ain't easy.