PDA

View Full Version : lk hunter

onpoint
07-07-2011, 01:16 PM
So this is my first post on HBC (been reading the forums for a while now) and thought I would put a question out there to the guys who believe in helping out new hunters. This year will be my first elk hunt with another total newbie to elk and we're trying to decide on where to go. Now I'm not looking for anyone's honey hole or any really specific details more just general area/region info. We were initially thinking the EK as that seems to be THE place for elk and don't have the time to head up North but have started considering the WK and eastern Okanagan (Gladstone Park). We are completely set on a backpack trip and are more than willing/able to get well off the beaten path so any advice/insight/thoughts on where a newbie would be best cutting his teeth is much appreciated! By the way the thread topic should read "Newbie Elk Hunter"....rookie here posted the comment before fixing the topic!

07-07-2011, 01:27 PM
I have gont Elk hunting now three times out in the Koots, All blind.
I have yet to even see an Elk :) BUT, What you need to do is get the Road atlas for the koots, find areas with good access and Google Earth the hell out of the area. People here are pretty tight lipped about Elk areas. I am not trying to sound rude but you will get way further by doing wht i said then anything here. Even if someone gives you the "Pointed finger" you will still need to google it. And the info you will get will be "Go up Bull River" With everyone else.

You have a way better chance at getting good info if you look in the road atlas for access to any area and Google Earth it, people will just give you a busy area. You will have fun and you will earn what you shoot. Do a little reaserch of your own and ask some questions on specifics of that area, you'll do better

Good luck, Hunting is fun :)

onpoint
07-07-2011, 02:05 PM