PDA

View Full Version : time to bite the bullet?

Livewire322
06-29-2011, 09:55 PM
Well I've been hunting since I was 11 years old now 17 years old. I've only shot deer, although i have been on hunting trips for moose.
I've shot 3 deer. I shot my first deer when I was 11 up in likely. 'twas a 3x3, the next deer i shot was on the island a few years later, it was a 3x3 as well.
When i was 15 i shot my last deer, I was up in Spence's bridge and it is a beautiful 5x4 with a 25" spread that hangs nicely on my wall.
I didn't get a deer the year after but i did get a bull moose draw that wasn't filled :(
Last year I was partaking in the waterfowl heritage days on Sept 4-5 and decided that I should have a rifle for deer just in case. Good thing cause I saw at least 20 2 pointers each day and passed every single one up. Had 5 or 6 lined up didn't shoot though. saw a really big boy running faster than a bullet by the time I got to where he was he was long gone.
So I'm thinking that its time to stop being picky and just take the first 2 point I see this year. I figure that a moose from my draw and a 2 pointer will fill my freezer.

How long have you guys waited for THE ONE?

Bucks&Ducks
06-29-2011, 10:01 PM
with the unfortunatly small amount of time that i get in prime moose/deer territory I am not that picky

"If it has balls it falls"

blackwater moose
06-29-2011, 10:13 PM
question is, do you want to fill your wall or your freezer ?

dutchie
06-29-2011, 10:41 PM
He is 17... he does not have walls or a freezer!!! his parents have both!

Dana has a great thread called "so you want to shoot a big deer"... I think... read it over. He is one of the only people that I know that has 2 mulies over 200" and many more book deer.

I have alot of respect for people that hold out for a big old deer. I would imagine it to be a very rewarding feeling to shoot a very large buck after going without for many years!!!