PDA

View Full Version : fishing advice

dougster
06-26-2011, 07:58 AM
So im new to the island, used to be a Kamloops boy. I am looking for some fishing advice. I live in Sooke and would like to know if anyone would be willing to share some good shore fishing for salmon?? PM me if you are willing to help a budding conservationist and hunter... I give me word that any place you share with me will remain confidential if that is your desire!
thanks a ton... need to bbq a salmon to justify the new rod

MillBay
06-26-2011, 09:11 AM
There is really no secret spot from shore, just luck of the draw, any place you cast from may be fair (you have to be rally lucky to find good) one day and not the next. The places that are the best are well know and easy to find such as fishing off Beacher head, but not always easy to fish off of. You will find the trout fishing disappointing on the island to what you are use to in Kamloops.

Tuffcity
06-26-2011, 09:22 AM
Sheringham Point area, lots of places to try in East Sooke Park to Beechy Head. Closer to Victoria you could try off the Uplands golf course, 10 Mile Point and below the Queen Alexandra hospital.

RC

greenhorn
06-26-2011, 09:56 AM
If you can get yourself a kayak or canoe you can really slay salmon off Gordon's beach. This year is a pink year so you'll be busy if you get out.

My buddy and I kayak fish alot off Gordon's and have caught alot of salmon there. It's a nice place because you troll pretty close to shore and if you watch the tides it can be pretty easy going. PM me if you want details.

steel_ram
06-26-2011, 10:38 AM
Interestingly, salmon were commercially harvested from shore along what is now East Sooke Park with traps. (ie. "The Trap Shack). So the salmon traditionally did hug the shore. My largest Chinook was caught from a boat within casting distance of Beechy Head. It is fishable from shore. About a 30 min walk from Aylard Farm Parking lot.