PDA

View Full Version : Black bear hunting in Sea To Sky country.

nolimits
06-02-2011, 09:37 AM
I would like to take this opportunity to, first of all, say hi to all members here. I just recently joined this forum and not only enjoyed reading countless stories many members have shared here, together with their hunting pics, but also found several answers to questions that were on my mind. No point in hiding of the fact, that I am also new to hunting and since I don't have any family members or friends that hunt, I am going to have to learn the ropes myself.

I am about to go on my first hunt, my first bear hunt, and for sentimental reason I am thinking about going towards Suqamish or Whistler. With this in mind I would like to ask you for your input and suggestions where would be good place to try. Of course I am not asking for your honey spots, just a decent access to crown land. Also please keep in mind that I will not be driving 4X4 vehicle. I will appreciate all your opinions. Thanks.

MB_Boy
06-02-2011, 09:46 AM
Lots of areas to go up the "corridor". You can head up towards the Elaho Valley.....heading up Squamish River Road. There is the road that heads back in behind the Chief...Indian River cut off is closed but there are plenty of "just fine" roads you can drive in there without a truck. Find a spur and get out and walk.

There are also a number of FSR's as you head north of Squamish.....and you can drive in on most of them some ways without a truck/4x4.

No shortage of bears anywhere up that way.....have been to and from Whistler 3 times in the past month and have seen bears on the highway every trip.

If you can get a backroads map book.....you'll see there are lots of roads they just may vary as to how far you can get in.

vortex hunter
06-02-2011, 02:38 PM
the Elaho is great took me a bear outta there on tuesday BUT WATCH OUT FOR THE GRIZZZZ

pse&remington
06-02-2011, 05:09 PM