PDA

View Full Version : First Bear Hunt Questions

sailpunk
05-31-2011, 10:00 AM
This is my first bear hunt this weekend and I am pretty new to this whole thing so I apologize in advance if these are newbie questions:

I have a Jeep and was looking to head up Chilliwack Lake way or some of the back roads around the Caroline Mines exit past Hope. Any recommendations on areas?
I have .303 and was planning on using 180 grain is this an appropriate round?
Game Cutters between Chilliwack and Vancouver; recommendations; is it necessary with a black bear (I have a meat grinder should I just grind him up)?
Hide preservation; I would like to retain the hide, nothing fancy (no head, claws or backing), how much should I expect to pay or is it a do it yourself type project?
Any other recommendations

Cheers

05-31-2011, 10:07 AM
take high percentage shots, Broadside and in the boiler room. Shoot till they are dead and not moving. Leave them alone for as long as you can (30min or 1hr)
if they run into the bush and you didnt see them go down. Bring some surveyers tape to mark a blood trail From where you shot and where it was shot. And dont shoot a sow with cubs.

I cant help you with the area or anything else on your list. Cuz i dont know the awnser! Other then a .303 180gr will kill a bear dead if you do your part.
Just have fun and take a camera so you can post some pictures!

greenhorn
05-31-2011, 10:15 AM
If you want to preserve the hide for tanning then you're in for some work. If you're going to pay for the hide to get tanned then it'll be several hundreds of dollars (or more). If you do it yourself you can save alot of money but it takes TIME. Let us know whether you plan on paying someone to tan it, or do it yourself.

Either way, you'll need to get a bear with a nice coat on it, which is the first step in the process :)