PDA

View Full Version : Lost Bear

The Silent Stalker
05-15-2011, 08:55 PM
Ok, last friday we were out looking for a big 6.5' black bear that had been seen a few times earlier that week. Twice my buddies saw him earlier in the week and had no shot, Wed, we saw him and a rookie buddy had the only shot and froze as we watched him for 2 minutes then he walked away. Friday night, in the same area I walked into a small beaver pond area tailing a swamp and came around a bush and there he was! Huge and black as can be, he was beautiful. I shot a 6'+ bear last year, and he was bigger for sure! I calmed down, hid behind a bush and ranged him at 39yrds. I had a perfect shot, broadside as he eating grass at the waters edge with the water behind him. I focussed on my breath, drew my bow and took one step to side to clear the bush. I swear I was thinking about everything I have read and been told about bow hunting, as I am new to it. My 1st shot cleared his belly by an inch. I heard my arrow ricochet off a rock. He jumped about 5' and froze, he had no idea what it was or where it came from. I drew again, and bang, what I thought was a perfect shot. He turned and ran, and I could see my arrow sticking from his side as he ran around the pond, into the thick swamp! I wanted to run, but my buddy calmed me down. I was absolutely thrilled!