PDA

View Full Version : mule deer tips

new hunter
05-11-2011, 09:08 PM
How high should I be climbing to glass for mule deer , tops of hills or tops of mountains? I hunt in Pemberton Where the valley walls are steep [Meager creek area] ant the bush is thick . The guys at spud valley said to get high and glass , but I wasn't sure if he meant get to the top of a cut , or to the top of the valley . Also I hunt with a scoped 30-30 so I'll have to stalk up pretty close. Any tips on hunting styles tactics or mule deer behavior would be appreciated as I am totally new at this and don't Know many other hunters too ask .:-?

warnniklz
05-11-2011, 09:29 PM
this thread may help

http://www.huntingbc.ca/forum/showthread.php?55512-Mule-deer&p=746219&highlight=#post746219

recoil
05-11-2011, 09:54 PM
I would head over the Hurley into region 3, not that there aren't deer in Pemberton but once you hit region 3 you are in mule deer country and you will see more deer and much larger ones, mulies are also known to be less elusive than blacktail. The Bralorne area is supposed to be good as well as the area north of Gun lake. Hunt up high until about the third week of september or first major snowfall then you will find most of the bucks will move down lower out of the apline into cut blocks or other areas with shelter and feed.

Remeber to look for sign and if you don't see any i usually keep moving until i find an area that seems to be a "hangout" and concentrate on that area. Get up early as most bucks i have seen are up early and then bed down later in the day. Except for the rut when you never know what you will see.

You should be good to at least 200 yards with a scoped 30-30 so no need to sneak up too close and risk the deer winding you. I like to hit the range at least a few times in the summer before hunting season to make sure i am on point.

I am sure more experienced hunters will chime in with suggestions also.

M@B
05-11-2011, 10:00 PM