PDA

View Full Version : How do you find out what is crown land?

Postal
08-04-2006, 04:32 PM
Hey all,

I'm fairly new to Fort St John and I'm curious as to how to find out where the crown land that I'd be able to hunt on is in this area.

I've looked at some of the online maps but I can't seem to find any help on them as to who owns the land. Also the back roads maps in the stores arn't any help either.

Just wondering if anyone has any ideas.

Thanks!

Jelvis
08-04-2006, 05:03 PM
If it ain't got fences and theres no buildings that you can see and no livestock, it's probably crown jewels.

rocksteady
08-04-2006, 05:10 PM
Regardless of how it looks, you never know who owns the land until you get a land status check with BC Lands or the Assessment Authority, and they won't tell you if you are not the owner to start with..

Your best bet is, the further you get from town, the less chance of it being private.

If you talk to a known land owner (rancher type) he can tell you exactly who owns the parcel next door....A little research and door knocking can save you a heap of trouble....

bwhnter
08-04-2006, 11:02 PM
I would be very careful about the no fence no building theory. I know alot of farmers that don't fence thier land and they have alot that doesn't have buildings on it but if you shoot somthing out there they will call the CO's.

I agree with Rocksteady. Start knocking on doors and do some home work. I have lived in Fort St. John all of my life and I still have a hard time knowing what is crown and what isn't. In fact last year I had a CO try to tell me that the land I was on was private and until I pulled out a map that stated otherwise he was going to write me up.

Bottom line is be careful and if you aren't 100% sure don't go there.

Good Luck

mrdoog
08-05-2006, 10:43 AM