PDA

View Full Version : how do you carry your Bow?

pse&remington
04-26-2011, 03:59 PM
Im new to archery this year and though i have spent countless hours practicing and feel quite comfortable with my shooting, I am curious as to how most out there carry their bow in the field?

MidnightRun
04-26-2011, 04:17 PM
By the grip or the string when walking, hanging from my bino case when glassing. Strapped to my pack if the terrain requires both hands free.

urbanhermit
04-26-2011, 04:21 PM
clenched in my butt cheeks, keeps me on the edge and alert.
and sometimes i just carry but they get awkward and a bit heavy, or in my pack scabbard.
look into bow slings..

tomahawk
04-26-2011, 04:36 PM
Switch from left to right hands mostly on the grip but sometimes change it up to by the string. After all that practising and pulling your draw weight you'll handle it no problem, just try and concentrate on your surroundings and not the weight of the bow.

pse&remington
04-26-2011, 04:52 PM
I was curious as to weather or not you use your bow slings until you are in a stalking situation, or do you assume that always be ready and just do as explained previously

deeks1989
04-26-2011, 04:56 PM
Primos Bow sling....no different then carrying a rifle on the sling other then weight...

huntwriter
04-26-2011, 05:22 PM
When I walk to my stand I carry the bow on a sling over the shoulder, just like a gun. On the stand the bow hangs on a hook or stands in a treestand bracket until it is time to pick it up to shoot. I like to have my hands free.

knockturnal
04-26-2011, 05:38 PM
bow sling all the way. if you are walking a lot but dont have a pack on, bow slings are awesome.

urbanhermit
04-26-2011, 05:39 PM
When I walk to my stand I carry the bow on a sling over the shoulder, just like a gun. On the stand the bow hangs on a hook or stands in a treestand bracket until it is time to pick it up to shoot. I like to have my hands free.