PDA

View Full Version : Wabbits

Elkhound
08-01-2006, 10:22 AM
Well it's Aug 1st, First day of wabbit season and Mrs. Elkhound is dying to get some. Who hunts them?

brotherjack
08-01-2006, 10:30 AM
I'll be out tonight, trying out my new 17HMR on em; using the 20 grain XTP/hunting bullets, not the 17 grain explosive ones. :)

reach
08-01-2006, 01:22 PM
Mrs. Elkhound is dying to get some Have you been spending too much time on HuntingBC again, neglecting your family duties? :mrgreen:

But seriously... I'm going to be up in the Green Lake area this weekend and might bring the .22 along... anybody have any suggestions for techniques/locations (even what general terrain to look for)? I'm a newbie hunter so any tips would be appreciated.

Mrs.Elkhound
08-01-2006, 04:16 PM
No neglect here;-)

Any tips for a new hunter ?
I would love to make some rabbit stew mmmmmmmmmmm that's sounds so good! I have to go and eat supper. Really, I would like to here some great tips on hunting rabbits!

LeverActionJunkie
08-01-2006, 05:14 PM
Best tip I can think of is find a friend with a Beagle, it will completely change your wabbit hunting experience.

Marc
08-01-2006, 05:33 PM
For some reason just before dark seems to be the best time of day. They all seem to be on the move as the sun is setting.

Marc.

randy
08-01-2006, 06:11 PM
Are there any good spots around the Lower Mainland? I would love to get out for an envening or two. mmmmmmmmmm rabits!!!!

Mrs.Elkhound
08-01-2006, 06:46 PM
That's perfect, in the evening is when we go out.:biggrin:

I asked Elkhound where the best place to hunt rabbit in the Lower Mainland and he said "Richmond #5, some of the farms have lots of rabbits and would probably love a hunter to come in and take care of them." :)
I would love to hear if you get any. I think we are going to go out on Thrusday.:-(

reach
08-01-2006, 07:54 PM