PDA

View Full Version : Which sights to use?

seanfalloy
04-15-2011, 08:53 AM
Putting this question up for me aswell as Rectifier and in the hunting portion because we both want good hunting sights. I am shooting a trophy ridge V5 sight right now and i do like it because i have full view both sides of the pin. I have heard that some people dont like these due to the loss of up and down view which is where the kill zone is. The sight seems to be holding up well but i havent really abused it to much either. I am thinking of changing for one that has micro adjust so the allen keys dont have to come out for every change.

Which brands and or pin configurations have
a) held up to the most abuse
b) Vertical or horizontal pins
c) brightness of pins and size recommendations.
d) stability of micro adjusts (is creep happening due to vibration)
e) any other things i dont know about due to the fact im still learning.

Also i found with the vertical sight that if pushed the pins could be bent left or right this can lead to a row of pins that isnt in a strait line which will throw off your left to right. The pins can be pushed back into place easy enough but just something to watch for. (they dont move on vibration)

Thanks

mikeboehm
04-15-2011, 10:03 AM
I like truglo. Stay away from cobra sights

Bow Walker
04-15-2011, 10:41 AM
Keep your fingers out of the sight housing and the pins won't get bent! The fiber optic threads on the new TR sights are plenty bright enough that they don't need upgrading at all - so no reason to be inserting fat fingers inna da hole...;)

Having said that (I feel better by the way) THE most durable sight that I have ever used was my Spot Hogg Real Deal. Bullet proof!