PDA

View Full Version : quick question

HUSKER
04-12-2011, 09:40 PM
hey i'm kind of new to hunting but i'm going in head long lol. i was wondering if anyone on here knows how to tan an animals hide?

with the head and feet still on,and how to do it with them off too

thanks in advance guy's

bigneily
04-12-2011, 09:50 PM
Tanning is like art there is good and bad, Had a friend who had a bear tanned for a hide to lay over the back of the couch. It looked good but if you touched it the hair would fall out, He must have had a bad tan...lol..

Ride Red
04-12-2011, 09:55 PM
hey i'm kind of new to hunting but i'm going in head long lol. i was wondering if anyone on here knows how to tan an animals hide?

with the head and feet still on,and how to do it with them off too

thanks in advance guy's

It's just like when I was a kid. My hide was tanned with a bid wooden spoon. :twisted:

fearnodeer
04-14-2011, 05:01 AM
You can google anything.

kgriz
04-15-2011, 05:44 PM
become a member on taxidermy.com.....endless help on there as well as swap/sell etc.

RayHill
04-15-2011, 06:28 PM
Tanning is like art there is good and bad, Had a friend who had a bear tanned for a hide to lay over the back of the couch. It looked good but if you touched it the hair would fall out, He must have had a bad tan...lol..

Sounds like the hide shouldn't have been tanned in the first place. The hair should be checked for slipping before it gos in to be tanned. If you don't cool it down right away and get it to a tanner soon it can slip before and after the tanning process.

HUSKER
04-17-2011, 09:56 PM
thanks for all the info guys! i'll check it out

greenhorn
04-17-2011, 10:45 PM