PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly hunt within 1 month from departure!!!!

sakofinnlight
04-11-2011, 05:59 PM
Well I can proudly say that this is my first year applying for a Grizzly tag and I was successful, my draw is for region 6-16 and parts of 6-14, I will be going with a good friend and hunting partner who grew up in this area and has hunted it with very succesful results for black bear and locating many grizzlies in this MU. My gun of choice is going to be my recently purchased Sako in 300 Win mag and will be shooting 180gr barnes tripple shock. I have done a some black bear hunting in the past but never even put my sights on a Grizz. We will be leaving for the hunt on May 9th and there for 1 full week :) Our origional plan was to go to this area and enjoy being able to hunt for record Black Bears before we go out for our Mulies in the fall but since I have acquired this LEH both species of bear will be targeted. Any tips or suggestions will defintaly be put to use in hope to harvesting my first Grizz.

--Sako--

Caribou_lou
04-11-2011, 06:09 PM
What zone are you hunting?

blaker_99
04-11-2011, 06:13 PM
Focus on south facing slopes, green grass and foliage. Don't rush your shot wait for a broadside opportunity even if you have to sit and watch for a bit. Also be aware of family units. Cubs tend to sit back a bit in the tree line while momma bear checks open hillsides out. Look for a mature, big melloned bear. Youll know its the bear when you first lay eyes on it. Also be aware of the terain between you and the bear as bears fall in some pretty ugly spots and once hes down theres not much option of moving him to an open slope. God luck bud and be aware at all times.

gutpile
04-11-2011, 06:15 PM
i think may 9th would be to early imo

Caribou_lou
04-11-2011, 06:58 PM
i think may 9th would be to early imo

This year it may be too early, but I shot my Grizzly May 10th north of Kitwanga in region 6. As long as there is some green grass you will find them!