PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for some opinions...

Iron Sighted
04-09-2011, 08:09 PM
Hey all, great site here, pleased to meet you all(virtual handshakes all around). OK, now that introductions are through, a bit about myself... I'm new to hunting, this'll be my first season this fall and I've got some questions about gear and such. I'd like to try my hand at alpine muley hunting(though I'll be happy to bag a deer in a low lying area, I just think alpine hunting looks more appealing).

I need to buy pretty much everything, and I'm limited to about $3000-4000max.

So far I'm thinking about a Browning X-Bolt stainless stalker in 7mm rem mag, a Leupold VX-3(not 100% sure which one yet though), Vortex Viper HD binoculars(not sure which magnification to get though, the 8x or 10x by 42mm objective). As far as packs go, I really liked the Eberlestock J34 I looked at, it seems like it'd do the trick.

I'm also going to need a good pair of boots but I haven't looked at any yet.

I'd appreciate any input or advice that any of you experienced hunters could throw my way in regards to my potential choices or if you think I forgot or neglected anything(of course if you have any other good advice you want share, or your favorite hunting spots, I'm all ears.:mrgreen:)

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Steeleco
04-09-2011, 08:14 PM
Where to start LOL With that budget you'll end up with some good gear. As to the rifle, IMHO you'd do well looking at Canadiangunnutz and see if you can get a package deal. Bino's are a very personal type item. Good stats aren't as important as a good fit and feel. Buy the best pair that fit well and you'll never have to replace them.

I'm sure plenty of other good advice is not far from coming!!

RJ
04-09-2011, 08:18 PM
dont think the x bolts come with iron sights :)
for the binos, I went with 8x. they are a little better in low light and don't magnify the wobble as bad, but its definitely a personal choice.