PDA

View Full Version : How many of you are self taught? Or did you learn to hunt from somebody else?

sky-gunner
03-09-2011, 02:50 PM
Like the title says, you learn on your own or did you have the knowledge passed on? In both regards what where the positives and negatives from your experience?

Husky7mm
03-09-2011, 03:02 PM
I am self taught. No one in my family hunted. It was very tough to get my first aniaml, especailly growing up in the lml when blacktail #s were in the crapper. Every yr i learn a little more and think back on the yr before. "I CANT BELIEVE I THOUGHT THAT WAY OR DID THAT" lol Every year I start out with positive thoughts "this is going to be the best year ever" and it is usually pretty darn good. Moving to reg 4 didnt suck either. My kids will have it alot easyer than I and I hope they will love hunting as much as I do. It looks promising aready.

http://i1097.photobucket.com/albums/g342/bforce750/P1040645.jpg

gibblewabble
03-09-2011, 03:10 PM
My grandfather took me out but I wouldnt say he taught alot (too impatient to teach) and he would never show you an animal as he would shoot it if he saw it and he wouldnt even point out animals. Most of what I learned was through trial and error and I am teaching my son by showing him the animals and occasionally letting him shoot one. I have had alot more luck since I started hunting without him and my uncle says the same about learning to hunt with him.

Gateholio
03-09-2011, 03:17 PM
Taught myself.

My dad moved about the time I was born and lost his hunting buddies, never went back hunting, so if I wanted to hunt, I had to teach my self. I started with a longbow since none of the stores would sell rifles to 10 year old kids....

Rugernator
03-09-2011, 03:17 PM
Grandfather taught me to fish. Father taught me to fish.. Hunting leaning on my own figuring out what works and reading what people on the net have to say.

Bo.

Kody94
03-09-2011, 03:24 PM
Both.