PDA

View Full Version : Lower Mainland Predator Hunting

BCsniper
02-14-2011, 01:54 PM
I am looking for some assistance in hunting predators in the lower mainland. This past weekend I went out towards Chilliwack Lake and did a 5 sets. I had used a double bull 360 ground blind, rigor rabbit decoy and used a rabbit mouth call. I am hunting with a bow and crossbow. I love the challenge of archery, but I am looking for the opportunities to shoot.

In the afternoon we walked the road near Foley Lake and only saw one fresh coyote track. We did 4 sets over about 5 miles. Didn't see anything.

Looking for some suggestions:

Anyone know of where higher densities of predators are?

Anyone interested in helping me out? I have limited experience and would love to hunt with someone who has had success.

How are you guys hunting the denser brush?

Would you start baiting a spot and sit over the bait?

Thanks proguide66 for some of the suggestions so far.

I would love to get some advice from guys who are calling, coyotes, cougars, bobcats, wolves and lynx.

So far my posts have received an amazing amount of helpful tips and I really appreciate you guys taking the time to respond.

BiG Boar
02-14-2011, 02:23 PM
I would head out a couple hours furthur towards merritt. Its not that much of a drive, and should be more consistent. Heading up there next week for a few days of yotes.

wolverine
02-14-2011, 02:57 PM
If you want to snipe coyotes with a bow go to Yarrow and talk to some of the farmers and hobby farmers that live there. It's a no shooting area (other than some of the larger farms on Sumas Prairie) but you can take them with a bow. Lot's of them out there. Friend of mine is always complaining about them on their horse ranch that's there. I'd just rather smoke 'em with my .22-250 rather than my bow so I don't bother. Have at 'er.

hillclimber
02-14-2011, 05:12 PM
Just curious is Foley lake was frozen over?

BCsniper
02-14-2011, 05:32 PM