PDA

View Full Version : Moccasins!?

fuzzy
02-10-2011, 08:32 PM
I am still a hunting newbie! But as i look through my old family albulms i see pics of my grandfather in the 1930s wearing moccasins while hunting with a packer nelson or some other torture device on his back. I have also seen other pics of him then wearing boots as he is packing something out.

Do any members on here wear moc's then change over for the pack out?

On paper it seems like a a good idea to me.

Any comments\ideas, please discuss.............. I am bored

fuzzy

madrona sh
02-10-2011, 09:30 PM
Yea I tried moc's and my feet hurt for days.
The terrain was brutal and the bush really dry.

warnniklz
02-10-2011, 10:05 PM
I wanna try a pair for early fall/late spring hunts... gotta get a goot layer of hard fat on te bottoms... or so my great aunt says

forthunter
02-10-2011, 10:16 PM
http:// shop.mukluks.com/departments/21/Men-s-Mukluks/Camuks.aspx

like these?

Jagermeister
02-10-2011, 11:32 PM
You can feel the sticks and stones under your feet really well in moccasins which allows you to tread lightly. The problem is that feeling all those sticks and stones are going to make your feet really tender at the end of the day. Did I mention how slippery the soles are when you are in a forest floor covered in pine needles? Like walking an ice covered slope. They stretch and your feet will slid in them which becomes more acute as you go down hills and your toes are crammed into the front end, that is if you are not on your ass when your feet went out from under you.
My advice to you would be invest in a light weight waterproof hunting boot. Get the best you can, source for information on sites like this and the trekking and backpacking forums too. There is a lot of information to review. In the end you will be money ahead. Believe me.

Singleshotneeded
02-11-2011, 12:35 AM