PDA

View Full Version : Alberta Coyote Hunt

David Heitsman
02-04-2011, 11:10 PM
Had this last weekend free so flew to Calgary and drove down to Nanton to hang with my old friend Andre, owner of Willow Creek Outfitters.

Andre and I had talked about chasing coyotes a couple times now and this year I saw where it might work.

I stayed at his home and by 10 minutes into daylight on the first morning I was sitting on a bank trying to call six coyotes off this field over closer to us. They were having none of what we were selling so we packed up and went to the next spot.

This is my first time seriously predator hunting and I had a lot to learn. We look for a place where we could hide the truck as they are scared to death of vehicles. We look for a huge area that we could see over and then drop into it far enough to keep off the skyline.

Using a rabbit in distress mouth call we started calling them in.

Woops dead battery gotta go!

JustinC
02-05-2011, 06:49 PM
Had this last weekend free so flew to Calgary and drove down to Nanton to hang with my old friend Andre, owner of Willow Creek Outfitters.

Andre and I had talked about chasing coyotes a couple times now and this year I saw where it might work.

I stayed at his home and by 10 minutes into daylight on the first morning I was sitting on a bank trying to call six coyotes off this field over closer to us. They were having none of what we were selling so we packed up and went to the next spot.

This is my first time seriously predator hunting and I had a lot to learn. We look for a place where we could hide the truck as they are scared to death of vehicles. We look for a huge area that we could see over and then drop into it far enough to keep off the skyline.

Using a rabbit in distress mouth call we started calling them in.

Woops dead battery gotta go!How much did that cost you????

David Heitsman
02-08-2011, 10:41 AM
How much did that cost you????

PM sent. Not sure if the forum is the best place for $$ issues.