PDA

View Full Version : Trying to store Apex Lures

ruttinbuck
01-31-2011, 07:47 PM
I have a whack of Apex in my tackle box and trying to come up with a better way of storing them.
Tired of line kinked from being tightly wound around each lure.Tired of hooks working into line on next apex.
This is my first attempt at storage and looking to other guys gear for better mouse traps.
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f217/ruttinbuck/IMG_2090.jpg
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f217/ruttinbuck/IMG_2091.jpg
The towel is in case the leader is too short and the hook will secure some where.All input is appreciated,this first attempt was fast and easy.Looking for better ideas thx RB

Spy
01-31-2011, 07:53 PM
Try cutting your board into a 3rd of what it is now & put in more nails. Stack your apex lures practically on top of each other & fill up your board back & front!Should work & save space.:-D

RJ
01-31-2011, 07:57 PM
I just use a tackle box with one or two in each individual slot. Take the leader and wrap it around 2 fingers in a loop then use a twist tie to keep it together. Seems to do the trick :)

bowhunterbruce
01-31-2011, 11:02 PM
we have used apex lure for years,the absolute best way we found was to hold the lure hanging tightly to the bottom of 1 hand,with the other hand wind the line all the way around 2 or 3 fingers of the holding hand until you reach the barrel swivel.dont wrap it to tight though.you then need to have a 3/4 inch long piece of plastic straw with about 1/4 inch opening readly available.
carefully slide the wound line off your fingers and once off give it a half turn,it shoud look like a figure 8,now squeeze one end into the straw until the straw is in the middle of the figure 8.