PDA

View Full Version : My first try at a traditional bow.

BiG Boar
01-27-2011, 08:37 PM
This traditional stuff is easy.... Especially when you have a great teacher. :-D

This was my first time trying out my new bow and a new sport, the recurve bow. I have shot compound for 1.5 years, but this traditional just seemed like a fun challenge. And it was! Far different than compound. However somehow more rewarding at the same time. I have a ton left to learn as I am just getting started, but I got some great help (from a member on here) to wet my appetite. Even though my finger tips feel like they're blistering from the bow string, I have found something really REALLY fun. For those of you who can consistently hit the mark with your compound, give this a try! The bows are way cheaper and there is something just more exciting about it when your arrow hits the mark.

I progressed through the 10, 20, 30, and 40 yard targets within an hour and a half's lesson. After getting a reasonable group at 40, we were about to call it quits on a high note, of course I said one more group of 4 shots. Arms shaking here was my final target. All arrows were different, trying to figure out what flies best.

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn5/bigbore14/5045e8e2.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn5/bigbore14/4da2c763.jpg

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/nn5/bigbore14/ee0098e8.jpg

Looking forward to getting out again! Thanks for the help! Dave

nomad
01-27-2011, 08:45 PM
Recurves are addictive! I've been shooting one for a few years now and will always enjoy using it! Imagine carrying that around hunting! Keeps things about as simple as it can get, yet can be very effective!

digger dogger
01-27-2011, 09:03 PM
Don't say ur gonna try a grizz with it Dave!

Bow Walker
01-27-2011, 10:27 PM
Congratulations. Great shooting, and after only a little bit of instruction too.

I'd take a dozen each of those three arrows grouped around the clay pigeon and forget that flyer!

Johnnybear