PDA

View Full Version : Hunting with a young dog - how to start

helios
01-17-2011, 11:33 AM
Hi,

I have a 6 months old Airedale who I'd like to take bird hunting. Can anyone recommend a good way to start? He can fetch well and has good recall. I've been working on tracking training with him and he is making good progress on that too.

I am a complete beginner when it comes to hunting myself, so perhaps the best way would be to go along with someone who has experience hunting with a dog?

Thanks for your input.

Spokerider
01-17-2011, 01:34 PM
I like airedales, and have had two of them.
Where did you get your pup from??

As far as hunting airedales.......being terriers, they are more inclined to chase small and large furry critters over retrieving birds. I never did try bird hunting with them however. If you really are set on bird hunting, he may do well with it if you start piquing his bird-scenting desires early, and as he matures and becomes more confident with the demands and training that you have instilled upon him.

Are the sibblings, sire or dam used for hunting? If so, for what game? If not, you may have to see what game species your dog is inclined towards, and head in that direction.