PDA

View Full Version : Lets talk SHEEP

Pages : [1] 2

palmer
06-14-2006, 09:35 PM
OK AUG 1st is not that far away. So lets talk about sheep hunting. Have you been or do you want to go...did you hunt the north or south and did you get one. What was the country like and how far in were you..lets hear those stories...

Macgregor
06-14-2006, 09:41 PM
I'm going on my first sheep hunt this year and will be in the mountains for opening day. I will be going north of Fort Nelson. Since this is my first time I'm very interested in hearing anything people can say about sheep hunting.

JohnS
06-14-2006, 09:51 PM
Put on the Hiking boots and do lots of glassing the slopes....and hope for half decent weather.. good luck on your hunts! Aug 15 for me woohoo! Elk though

Krico
06-14-2006, 10:05 PM
Been once before for stones, chased the same ram for 3 days and couldn't get close enough for a shot-damn thing got spooked by caribou feeding up high 2 days in a row:-x Did manage to get my first caribou on that trip though.:-D Heading out again this fall, will be after stones again, will take a goat if the opportunity presents itself but sheep are the reason for the trip. May consider another caribou if I cross paths with a booner. Will be float plane deep in the bush this time!

palmer
06-14-2006, 10:26 PM
Hunted summit lake country last year...saw sheep but the big ones were a little smarter than me. I did get a caribou and a nice moose on that trip. Year before I hunted by moon lake for Dalls....saw lots of sheep but no full curls...great country there...will go back soon

youngfellla
06-14-2006, 10:42 PM
I plant to be at my base camp by July 25, spend a few days scouting and glassing, and be up on the mountain the night before opening day. And then let 'em have it!

Got screwed last year by the weather, this year will be different.

palmer
06-14-2006, 10:44 PM