PDA

View Full Version : new to hunting:D and need LOTS OF HELP

604hunter
12-28-2010, 11:25 PM
hey
i just recently got really interested in going hunting. i am total noob at this because i dont even have a liscence yet. i am from surrey and want to know what kind of liscence would i need to hunt and where do we get it from?like deers and stuff....
also what are good places near surrey to go hunting (lower mainland). and the important question should i get a gun to hunt or a bow/crossbow?
i am on a tight budget as i am only a student so $300..
if a gun what gun and if bow/crossbow which one.
i am 6.3 210 big guy so the weight and stuff wouldnt be an issue.
and any suggestion or any help is greatly apreciated.
thanks in advance:-D

Steeleco
12-28-2010, 11:38 PM
First off your going to need to take CORE. You can find an instructor in a few locations in Surrey, but it's likely going to eat up almost half your budget. But if you get it now you'll have plenty of time to save up for hunting later in the year.

I'd also suggest you join a club like Semiamoo in South Surrey, you'll meet lots of people that may be willing to show you the ropes.

Welcome to the site, lots of good things the read and learn from here on the site.

bugler
12-29-2010, 10:46 AM
Yup, start with taking the CORE. You need it to obtain a hunting license. It will also give you some food for thought on what you want to use and what you want to pursue. It may seem daunting to get started but it is definitely worth the effort!!!

BiG Boar
12-29-2010, 11:01 AM