PDA

View Full Version : New Hunter Success Story

electroman
12-25-2010, 01:25 PM
First post from a long time lurker.
I have been hunting for 3 years now but have been unsuccessful for my first two years. Weekend trips to unfamiliar areas and spending most of my time driving around and not getting out to look around didn’t help me much. i knew what i had to do but for some reason couldn’t get my act together to do it.
This year my brother and i got together for our LEH selections and carefully selected a semi familiar area with good draw odds. Luck was with us and we both got a draw. my brother(noahs arc) with a cow/calf and myself for a mulie doe. So now we have dates for our trip and now to plan a scouting trip. Everything you read and hear is true. Get into the bush, find water, food, game trails etc. Try to learn your area as best you can. By the time we where hunting we knew we had put our time in and felt good about the trip.
Two hours into my LEH being valid i took my doe from about 60 yards, and on the fourth day of my brothers LEH he took a cow at about 100 yards. Both where one shot kills and neither took more than two steps after being shot. Field dressing was quite a learning experience as was quartering the cow up. Both of us are the only hunters in the family so everything was new for the both of us.
Thanks to everyone for the tips and advice, appreciate it.
I do Have pictures but not being the computer type, i cant make the pictures small enough to upload.
electroman

Bear Chaser
12-25-2010, 02:07 PM
Congratulations to you & your brother. Nice that the two of you were able to get out and get some success. Good luck in your future hunts.

yamadirt 426
12-25-2010, 03:27 PM
sounds like me. 2yrs and nil so far. Same story. Check out familar areas but... Here is hoping the 3rd yr is the one :) congrats !!

quadrakid
12-25-2010, 06:49 PM
Congratulations, hunting is like life,with experience comes success. Many great hunting seasons will come your way.