PDA

View Full Version : The Official Coyote Thread

Stéphane
12-21-2010, 07:32 PM
Just kidding about the title, actually I need a bit of info related to coyote hunting.

I have a friend of mine who owns a farm and the coyotes are being what they are: predatory. I would love to help him, but I'm far from an expert in hunting coyotes. More accurately, I'm far from an expert in hunting period.
I did find a spot where they eat and gather. There was rest of a deer, eaten salmons, crap, fresh tracks etc.

Now, can I hide and wait for them to be in a shooting range of a bow? There is a great spot where I could put branches around and make a hideout.

Can I bait them? Or is it illegal?

Thanks!

Surrey Boy
12-21-2010, 10:17 PM
Since you already have identified feeding spots, baiting seems an inefficient way to go. I see them often coming in and out of the runs in the blackberries, so that's where I would perch.

Ours in Langley don't seem to have any fear when I'm out working, but when I lived in the Glen Valley those coyotes had a little more respect. I used to sit on the roof and they'd be just inside the west side of a cornfield and I could see their eyes reflecting the sunset behind me, so I'd aim between the dots.

Whisky Creek
12-21-2010, 11:27 PM
Stephane,