PDA

View Full Version : Release length and type

RoscoeP
11-28-2010, 09:15 AM
Well my bow is on the way and now I need my accessories. There is a 20% off sale starting today at the bow shop. I have never used a release before need to know where the jaws should should be in relation to your finger tips, say with the hand open.
Also which types of jaws are better? Single hook or the double. This store sells mostly TRU-ball releases, any model better than others?
I just don't want to end up with a drawer full of bow accessories that didn't work for me.
Any thoughts on sights or rip-cord rests, don't want to spend more than $100 per item. Cheers Roscoe

Stéphane
11-28-2010, 09:36 AM
Man, Am I glad I'm not the only one needing advice. I started to think I would need to put Bow Walker on a payroll. Roscoe, I really this site below for explaining how to choose my archery needs. Forums are great, but it remains people's opinion. What's great for one, might not be for another. That's why I like the site I put at the end of the post. It often goes into great details on how things work and let you decide what factors are important to you.

The release I bought cost me $60 (I'm sure it's worth less somewhere), because it was the most popular, and it will be cut to fit me. Don't ask me the name, I forgot. I thought it was a predator, but there's no such thing. It's still at my pro-shop. He showed me 2 other styles: one I didn't like because I had to lock it on the string(cheaper in$) and the other was almost twice the price. Not ready to pay that much when I'm not even sure what I need.

Hey, which bow shop has 20% off?

SG

http://www.huntersfriend.com/

Bowzone_Mikey
11-28-2010, 11:35 AM
Roscoe .... Of the tru ball line I like the Beast and Beast 2 ... Open jaw .. easy to hook onto your loop or string (with enough practice you should be able to do it without looking at your rig while your keeping yer eyes on the prize)