PDA

View Full Version : Looking for hunting mentors and friends in BC

Morel
11-26-2010, 11:03 PM
Please forgive, and indulge the somewhat long initial post.

Looking through member’s initial posts, apparently it is proper to start with a joke.

Here goes....

“If someone tells you they are a compulsive liar, should you believe them?”…..

waiting for the customary groan from the audience…. Come on, I can take it!

Well, on to business… I am new to BC and am interested in hunting and the outdoors hence the handle Morel (unfortunately morel mushrooms are not very common in the spring BC… if I am wrong pleas let me know and where you collect). I fished a lot with my dad as a kid, did a bit of target shooting with a .22, but no hunting. Before moving to BC, I had a couple friends that were experienced hunters and was hoping to head out with them in the fall during deer and duck season. Moving put a bit of a wrench in my plans and I was not able to get into the field this fall. I joined the forum to get in touch with experienced hunters and hopefully find some mentors and friends to hunt with in BC.

I have taken up trap and target shooting over the last year and see them as simply practice for hunting. Since hunting season is mostly over for this year, my goals for this year (in no particular order) are: i) to get my C.O.R.E certification and BC hunter registration ii) to become more proficient with my rifles (12 GA. shotgun, .22 and 30 cal. Mosin-Nagnat ) so I have the confidence that the bullet will go where I am aiming ensuring a safe, clean kill with little waste iii) join a gun club (likely the Port Coquitlam and District Hunting and Fishing Club) to have a place to practice shooting iv) to scout possible hunting sites (aka. going for a walk in the woods) and iv) find friends and mentors who would be willing to help out a hunter new to the discipline.