PDA

View Full Version : Bear skinning and hide prep in the field

Andreas
11-23-2010, 05:42 PM
So I was calling around today for information/pricing to get my first bear rug made and one place in the lower mainland (who shall remain nameless) after a few basic questions on the condition of the hide etc proceeded to lecture me and criticize how I handled the hide.

I would like to establish that this was my very first animal and first bear, and simply went according to the advice and direction of those in my hunting party. Early in the conversation I had mentioned that this was my first bear etc. and explained that it was skinned immediately after being shot (to the best of my ability after dark in low light conditions using a head mounted flashlight), then salted that night and again the next day. I did not skin the head or remove the feet from the paws simply because I have no experience with that and did not want to screw it up (but tried to get as much salt in there as possible). It was pretty cold where we were and the hide was in ambient cool temperatures until we got home three days later and immediately put it in the freezer.