PDA

View Full Version : Boundary Bay

Dolomite
11-07-2010, 09:06 AM
I have some quick questions about waterfowling in the boundary bay area. It seems to me (and its probably the same for most areas) that most of the hunting in that area is pass hunting. Atleast thats what i gather from talking to people in the area. I'm new to all this so this might seem a little redudant. Could it be that its just the time of the season and things have slowed down? It just seems like the waterfowl are moving just before dawn or right after dusk. I've spent a whole day there and seen flocks passing by during the day way up high and quite intent on getting somewhere. Is it possible to call those ducks in?

wos
11-07-2010, 09:18 AM
I use to hunt boundary bay lots. I found it took large decoy spreads nasty weather and timing the tides to be successful. They will decoy very well if the combo is right. I had many great limit days out there.

dutchie
11-07-2010, 10:48 AM
there needs to be a bit of a wind coming from the southwest to push the birds onto shore.

Rain helps alot in a lite wind but if you have a brisk wind they will be flying low anyways.

Birds anywhere will decoy aslong as it looks real. I personally have never just done pass shooting on Boundary Bay but many people without deeks will. Spinners are not generally used out there because of the hike to get in and out, but with that being said when we use one it is a duck smash.

A little hint. The Birds will roost on the farmers feilds rather then the water and at day break (5-10 mins before legal shooting light) they will start flying heavy and hard.

they will be call shy aswell... especially to a "quack" style call. everyone has them, no one knows how to use them... it educated the birds so they know what is real or not!

Dutchie

Dolomite
11-07-2010, 11:55 AM