PDA

View Full Version : Nice to see all the Blacktail Interest.

Rainforest hunter
11-03-2010, 07:25 PM
Blacktail are the forgotten deer whitetail and Mule deer hunters call them dog deer or those little deer. Truth is a big bodied Blacktail are still big and they are the hardest big game trophy to harvest in North America. They seem to be getting more popular to hunt. It's nice to see.

Prowler
11-03-2010, 07:44 PM
I think the people that live in blacktail country, hunt blacktails. I dont think you get "many" hunters traveling from say Clearwater, or Cranbrook to chase trophy blacktails, but thats fine with me.. They are by far, the most frustrating deer on the planet to hunt, but when you connect, theres nothing like it...:-D

Brew
11-03-2010, 07:51 PM
I love hunting them even though I have been hunting them hard for 4 years and have not pulled the trigger on one yet. Had chances on little bucks and messed up a few chances on some hogs. I want a big one and will hold out till I find one.

Rainforest hunter
11-04-2010, 06:39 PM
Blacktails ROCK!!

blacktailslayer
11-04-2010, 06:43 PM
Real men hunt blacktails.:mrgreen::mrgreen::!:

Bistchen
11-04-2010, 07:52 PM
Got a 2 point on October 1st. Was stalking a black bear, got winded, went after him, lost him, but there was a blactail on the edge of the forest in the alpine. Pure luck. I have been going after the basterds hard all autumn, and havent seen one apart from the one I shot. They are GHOSTS, no joke!!
They are the tastiest in my opinion. Better than Mule/WT.
Delicious bounty, if you can shoot one, let alone see one!

IronNoggin
11-04-2010, 08:54 PM
... they are the hardest big game trophy to harvest in North America...

AMEN!!!