PDA

View Full Version : My 1st Grouse

solanderdog
11-01-2010, 10:03 AM
Just got back from my first hunting trip. My father-in-law got his moose and I shot three grouse. This is the first grouse I shot, but not the first I shot at. All in all, I liked the shotguns and the bird hunting best. I think I'll leave the moose hunting for the ol' man. Tastes good though!

http://www.ducktea.com/images/1stgrouse.jpg

blacktail_junkie
11-01-2010, 10:19 AM
Congrats on the first bird

macdaddy10
11-01-2010, 10:51 AM
Nice one. Looks like a female spruce grouse??

solanderdog
11-01-2010, 11:41 AM
Thanks guys. I'm pretty new to all of this and I've no idea about the sex. I was thinking it was a Franklin (Spruce) as were the other two. I was up in 6-4, north of Ootsa Lake.

mxracer328
11-01-2010, 12:44 PM
looks like lunch to me, congrats on your first chicken

Twobucks
11-01-2010, 01:04 PM
I think I was more excited about my first grouse than my first deer - tell you what, they're a lot less work!

Well done - hope there's many more to come!

Spirit's Master
11-01-2010, 01:57 PM
Nice work on your first birds. The first taste is always free. Good luck trying to kick your new addiction.

Was your dog involved in the retrieves?

cwf

solanderdog
11-01-2010, 04:10 PM
looks like lunch to me, congrats on your first chicken

Thanks, I actually had it for dinner that night back in camp. It was excellent.

solanderdog
11-01-2010, 04:12 PM
I think I was more excited about my first grouse than my first deer - tell you what, they're a lot less work!

Well done - hope there's many more to come!

Thanks, I hope so too. I really enjoyed that bit of it the hunting trip and can spending a lot of time in the future trying to get semi-competent at it.

solanderdog
11-01-2010, 04:18 PM
Nice work on your first birds. The first taste is always free. Good luck trying to kick your new addiction.

Was your dog involved in the retrieves?

I think I'm going to let myself succumb to this addiction.