PDA

View Full Version : Limited Entry Hunt Fairness

Peter
10-29-2010, 08:55 PM
So I've been hunting now for 5 years, later in my life, but better late than never. Every year I have put in for LEH draws for moose and deer and so far have never been successful. I have heard of many others who have had the same experience, some with many more years under their belt than I. In some cases there are hunters who seem to be very lucky, getting draws on a regular basis. I know that the draw is equal odds for everyone every year, but wonder if there has been any thought given to increasing slightly the odds of unsuccessful hunters incrementally each year they do not get a draw. This would give these hunters some greater window of hope as they submitt their annual $6 cards to the Ministry.

Make any sense???

Peter

Steeleco
10-29-2010, 08:59 PM
Treat it like the 6-49 1 in 14million odds. Some win, some don't. There's still lots of other animals to hunt outside the LEH system.

dougan
10-29-2010, 08:59 PM
This is year #20 for me without as much as a doe draw. i figure im gona re take the core course and get a new # that should do the trick!!!

Drillbit
10-29-2010, 09:03 PM
I'm with you dougan, that's the trick. First timers always win.

Savage Man
10-29-2010, 09:13 PM
Same as always all the guys that I know here in the Kootenays think the system is poor and needs to be changed, but what do we know we live on the
other side of Hope (HOPE BC)where their seems to be no hope when it comes to politics.

coach
10-29-2010, 09:18 PM
Peter, your suggestion has merit. How would you suggest this to be implemented?

RJ
10-29-2010, 09:20 PM
I think if you get a successful draw your odds are reduced for a few years. Try putting in for draws with better odds.

edit...

here it is...

ENHANCED ODDS
Over the years, many unsuccessful Limited Entry applicants have suggested that the draw should be changed to