PDA

View Full Version : Drive throught hunters

Peter
10-29-2010, 08:46 PM
No Limited Entry draws this year, 45 separate trips out, one miss on the only opportunity of the season and so what do I have to complain about!!!??? Well the walk is always a pleasure and I'm told many have more misses than hits. As for the LEH, that is the topic of another post. What I'm a bit aggrivated about though, is the "drive through" hunter. Now I'm relatively new to this game (a 5 year "veteran") but I believe there are certain etiquettes in hunting. I'm thinking that first come, first served and safety are quite fundamental to our past time. So I was astounded when on several times this season I had hunters in vehicles drive right through me as I was hunting on back roads in the Cariboo. I mean, I was walking down the middle of the road (very early morning on a couple of occasions) when these guys drove through with hellos and comments to the effect that they were looking for game down the road.....WELL EXCUSE ME-SO WAS I!!!! I was so astounded that I had little time to comment before they had moved on. Not only do these guys seem to miss the "I was here first" idea they also disregard the fact that they are now driving into my line of fire-not particularly safe. In each instance I turned around in disgust and went to another area. One morning the SAME guy drove through me on the road twice- I did give him an earfull which I don't think he heard. Perhaps I'm being too picky, but when I'm trying to quietly go into an area on foot I don't feel it is right for someone to blow on by so they can get in on the game before I do. I know it's not wise to get into "animated" discussions out in the bush, but hope some agitation on this blog may give cause for those offenders (YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE) to be a bit more thoughtful to their fellow hunters. Let me know if you think I am off base regarding this issue.

Peter

mark
10-29-2010, 08:54 PM