PDA

View Full Version : Clothing for hunting BC?

dog812
10-28-2010, 06:44 PM
Hey i need some new outer gear. This is my first year hunting. I am not really sure what kind of gear i should be looking at?
obviously a good base layer is key.. and i already have some awesome boots...
But what about jacket / pants? what have you guys had good experiences with?

So far i have been wearing some military BDU's but they are not warm at all.

swampman
10-28-2010, 07:03 PM
If your on a budget (read Married) LOL, the stuff at Walmart is exellent for the price. It's warm and keeps you dry but don't hike in it (think sauna). All the higher priced stuff is good, look for quiet exterior and weather proof. Hope that helps. Happy Hunting!:-D

Caveman
10-28-2010, 08:02 PM
I you can, spend a little extra on a quality jacket, you won't regret it. Some comfortable pants that leave room to layer with quality undergarments such as Under Armour or simular

brian
10-28-2010, 10:37 PM
Where abouts are looking at hunting?
I prefer layers of good fleece and wool, with a heavier wool jacket for cold stuff and a thin rain jacket for really wet stuff. I usually have water proof supposedly breathable rain pants with me, but I have only ever used them once on the hunt (and even then found them too clausterphobic and noisy to bother with), so they became my winter biking commuting pants. The fleece I use sheds water surprisingly well.

GoatGuy
10-28-2010, 10:39 PM
Get wool from an army surplus place if you don't want to spend a pile.

dog812
11-05-2010, 08:19 AM
Well i went and looked at the surplus and i still think i am going to pick up the Browning Full curl wool pants / jacket. Only a couple bucks more..
Unless anyone has any reasons i shouldnt.

pearljam
11-05-2010, 08:35 AM