PDA

View Full Version : New grouse hunter

paddo
10-27-2010, 04:35 PM
I'm new to grouse hunting this year and have been out about 6 times on weekends. Squamish, Penticton, Harrison Lake, Pemberton.

Well, so far I haven't got any, and I've only seen 1, 2, or 0 each trip. Mostly I see them as they flush into the woods off the road. I've only had one real decent shot (I'm using a .22).

Anyhow, I've read that some areas are better than others this year for grouse. I'd really appreciate some advise on where to head (not too far from Vancouver). Feel free to PM me if you don't want to give any secrets away.

Also, I'm thinking of buying a shotgun mostly because I think I'd have a better chance. As I said, mostly I see them when they are flushing and don't have time to get a decent shot with my .22. What are your thoughts about an inexpensive and relatively light shotgun? (I like to go on long hikes so I don't want something too heavy.)

Thanks!

dougster
10-27-2010, 04:47 PM
a .410 works good for grouse, but the .22 is best. i like to go for them in the early afternoon when the deer hunting is slow. just walk along the roads, if you drive you can startle them, and when you get about 50-80 yards away take a head shot and enjoy

seanps
10-28-2010, 09:59 AM
I like my .20 gauge. If you're looking for lightness, get a single shot. Makes the whole game a bit more challenging as well, especially when you run into more than one bird. If you're in Vancouver look for a used gun at Reliable Gun or Italian Sporting Goods.

If you're new it'll take a while to develop the instincts to find them. For me, it's a lot about the noises; after some practice you can distinguish the noise of a leaf falling versus a bird taking a few steps. They blend in well, so spotting a still bird in a pile of leaves is almost impossible. I found a pair yesterday after hearing a light "crunch crunch" about 30 yards into the brush.