PDA

View Full Version : whats a good gps

caper321
10-26-2010, 10:38 PM
i am sure this has been asked before, but what is a good gps? I would like something for around $250.00 that i could put alot of maps in. i never did any research on any yet, so i have no knowledge at all on these. Any info will be appreciated, thanks.

todbartell
10-26-2010, 10:53 PM
I like my Garmin Legend HCX, you can add a micro SD chip for more detailed maps. Im using the Backroads Mapbook chip, love it. The unit is discontiued I believe but can still be had for $210

scoot
10-26-2010, 11:05 PM
I am not sure about the new generation of Garmins that are on the market. But when I bought mine, the Ledgend cx and hcx were the best bang for the buck. I ended up buying the Vista cx with a few extra fetures. The amount of maps you want to hold depends on the size of memory card you put in the unit. (watch, as some units don't have memory cards). I am not sure what those two cost now, but both are great units. Also, there was a recent post i put up asking about the garmin and backroads programs. Check it out if you will be looking to buy the maps too.

Steeleco
10-27-2010, 07:35 AM
Cabela's has the Garmin 60Csx on sale for $269 IIRC, the mapping software will cost you around another $100

tuchodi
10-27-2010, 11:19 AM
Garmin seem to be the most consistent with good quality products and have a good $ range to choose from.

srupp
10-27-2010, 11:57 AM
hmmm I personally like the LOWRANCE system..I was with several guys the past few days that ALL had Garmin...too small screen, not the mapping software..as lowrance...STILL think Lowrance is far better IMO.

Steven

Caveman
10-27-2010, 12:40 PM
hmmm I personally like the LOWRANCE system..I was with several guys the past few days that ALL had Garmin...too small screen, not the mapping software..as lowrance...STILL think Lowrance is far better IMO.

Steven