PDA

View Full Version : My first buck..

NitwiT
10-22-2010, 07:00 PM
Finally got some time on my hands, so I thought I post the story on how I achieved this enourmous milestone.

It all started at work, I found out that I was gonna get a week off of work, and decided there was no better way to spend this time then by ditching the family, and heading off into the mountains. I called a bunch of friends, but no one was in a similar situation, so I thought whatever, I'm going!

Headed out to Wendego Lodge, on Tranquille Lake, on Sunday afternoon, arrived there around 7 pm that day, and moved in. I had received a couple tips from some Kamloops hunters, and with those in the back of my head, and the lodge owners own advice on the area, I headed out to Hellar Creek FSR. Spent monday and tuesday driving around, getting out and walking, but being a rookie, I'm fairly positive that any bucks in that area left that postal code. I did happen upon one mule deer, when he ran, he was super close, (I hadn't seen him) and so large that I figured it was a weird colored elk.

Wednesday morning came, and I headed up to Silokun Mountain. As I drove slowly through the area, I kept glassing and in one, found a nice three point buck staring at me. My efforts to get out of the truck resulted in him taking off. Slightly discouraged at how bad I was at this, I drove on. About 25 minutes later, came around a small corner, to find a spiker buck poking around behind a tree on the side of the road. Wind was 100% in my favor, and I very carefully got out of my truck, snuck into the woods, and set up to shoot. As I lined up on his front shoulder, in the peripheral of my scope, another three point poked his head into. Getting greedy, I decided I'd wait for a shot at him. Couple minutes later, the wind shifted, and they both took off. At this point in my day, I'm discouraged and feeling kind of stupid.