PDA

View Full Version : How does deer taste once the rut starts?

Rainsford
10-19-2010, 04:17 PM
So this is my first year hunting and I have heard that once the rut starts the bucks taste like dog food from some people and I have heard others say they taste fine. I haven’t heard anything on doe's and the antlerless season opens November 1st in my area. My question is how is the meat once the ruts started for both sexes? Thanks in advance for your input!

slicky72
10-19-2010, 04:20 PM
just like chicken:mrgreen:

PointMan
10-19-2010, 04:30 PM
There are a lot of things that can affect how a deer tastes, rut, food, has it run or been chased, etc. Mostly, from what I've heard, whitetail taste doesn't change much throughout the year, doe or buck. But mulies can vary greatly depending on all the above circumstances. The mulie I got this year was a young spiker, pre-rut and it dropped where it stood, so the meat tastes fantastic. But if it had been a big 4x5 mid November, in the middle of rutting season, eating twigs and pine needles all year, I'd expect it to be less than a pleasant steak (unless VERY WELL marinated).

Rainsford
10-19-2010, 04:35 PM
There are a lot of things that can affect how a deer tastes, rut, food, has it run or been chased, etc. Mostly, from what I've heard, whitetail taste doesn't change much throughout the year, doe or buck. But mulies can vary greatly depending on all the above circumstances. The mulie I got this year was a young spiker, pre-rut and it dropped where it stood, so the meat tastes fantastic. But if it had been a big 4x5 mid November, in the middle of rutting season, eating twigs and pine needles all year, I'd expect it to be less than a pleasant steak (unless VERY WELL marinated).

Oops i should have specified I live on the island so it would be blacktails i would be hunting.

Jelvis
10-19-2010, 04:45 PM