PDA

View Full Version : 8x42?

luckofthedraw
10-14-2010, 03:36 PM
I am new to this, and have been researching which bino's to beg the wife for for xmas. I thought I was stone set on a pair that I fell in love with. Nikon Monarch's.

http://www.binoculars.com/binoculars/bird-watching-binoculars/8x42monarchatb.cfm

I've read a ton of reviews on these, and found they are 5/5 on most forums. Until reading Casagrande's post on 10x 50 bino's I would have just purchased these.

Should I be looking for a better pair of nox's for hunting? The reason I was leaning towards 8x42 is for the smaller/lighter size.

Bow Walker
10-14-2010, 06:22 PM
10xwhatevers sometimes have a tendency to waver and wobble a bit because of the higher power of magnification. It really depends on the usage that you intend on putting the binos through.

Longer range glassing (upwards of 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile) would benefit from the 10 power, but shorter, up-close-and-personal glassing (less than 1/2 mile) could be done very nicely with the 8 power binos.

I personally would look for something in the 10x50 range. Something like the Vortex 10x50 Diamondbacks or the 10x56 Vultures. It also depends a lot on your budget...there are the 10x50 Vipers that retail for $670.00.....it's entirely up to you (and she-who-must-be-obeyed).

muledeercrazy
10-14-2010, 08:21 PM