PDA

View Full Version : Looking to get out with kids - need help

JAFA
09-27-2010, 07:27 AM
Thanks for looking appreciate any help or general advice.

Taking my daughter out for the first time and my son, an avid hunter.

He is 9 she is 11. We will be out for the weekend. We are looking to get a Mule Deer.

I am thinking to go to Lawless/ Tulameen Fsr.

I have a couple questions;
Is this a good area to go from Burnaby?
Is there a better area to go about the same travel time?
How far in should I travel before I set up camp?
What elevation would the bucks be this time of year?

I am relatively new to hunting (5-6 recent years) but have lots of the basics down, if you can help me get to the general productive area we should be fine.
Thanks Jim.

specbelly
09-27-2010, 07:58 AM
I take the kids to the Tunkwa lake area between Merrit and Kamloops. heading there myself this weekend

Leaseman
09-27-2010, 08:05 AM
Fair amount of logging going on in there Jim!

For the closeness, hard to beat the location.... been hunting it myself for 25+ years and like the area! Biggest thing to do is pick an area and hunt it! There is probably 300+ kilometers of roads and trails in there, lots of animals around but the bush is thick, tons of new growth 1year-20+ years. Most people make the mistake of trucking all over the country in there..... Use to hold many huge bucks from the days beofe the Coq. highway, still some brutes to be found, but most are dinks...

A couple of good forestry campsites around Vuich Creek, also a good trail (old road) that runs up the side of the creek and takes you way back in to a big basin..... seen/got some nice bucks in there but was a pain to get out (never had a machine).... glass all the old fire/skidder trails in the many slashes you will see and good luck!

I do the trip up there many times just as a day trip! Enjoy the sites, many deer, seen lots of grouse, 5 bear last trip and the odd moose!