PDA

View Full Version : More goat questions

Moose72
09-24-2010, 10:51 PM
Well being a rookie for the ol goat. I was just goin to ask you pros a few questions. I'm hunting an area that is known for goats, went up there and didn't see a one. Talked with a few others that have been there and they hadn't seen any either. Pretty sure there is a guide in there and also seen a big ol grizz. Do these goats move back and forth from range to range? Are they like a sheep and can be there one day and gone the next and back again in a week or so? Or? Do they just live on one chunk of rock and basicly stay there for the duration? Your thoughts and suggestions are well appreciated.

ufishifish2
09-24-2010, 11:17 PM
Firstly, I am far from a pro. Just killing time so I thought I'd weigh in. After a few goat hunts, I have found that they often roam from hill to hill, but seem to have favorite spots that they, or others can frequently be found at. The one thing I can tell you is that they do not "live on one chunk of rock" but feed from one hill to another. The snow will eventually push them lower down. Hope my little bit of info/opinion helps a bit. Best of luck.

Amphibious
09-25-2010, 07:03 AM
http://www.amazon.ca/Beast-Color-Winter-Mountain-Observed/dp/0803264216/ref=sr_1_1?s=gateway&ie=UTF8&qid=1285423367&sr=8-1

buy this book.

300mag
09-25-2010, 07:55 AM
When you think you have looked everywhere, look again. Just came back from a similar experience. I have taken a few goats in the past, and I too was ready to give up on this trip. But I planted myself behind my spotting scope. I found them. Tucked away in a far corner of a distant valley. This is just one experience. I just remember being told by a seasoned mountain hunter, When you think you have glassed enough, glass more & when you think you have seen everything push over into the next valley, look in every bowl, crag etc...

Chuck
09-25-2010, 09:22 AM