PDA

View Full Version : Elk bugling ect

300wsmXboltKiller
07-25-2010, 10:04 AM
im a noob caller and would like some info on where to start id like to be able to atleast make a locater bugle and then just use my hochie mama and another cow call to imitate a herd what is a good locater bugle please i only have 1 month to practice

Bear Chaser
07-25-2010, 10:10 AM
Rent or buy as many Elk hunting vids as you can and watch them a lot. Practice at home at 3:00 am when the neighbors were sleeping. HAHA.
Perfection isn't 100% necessary as all elk sound different. You just want to avoid flubbed calls that are obviously not an elk at all. Also an elk that is up all night calling will bugle differently in the morning than he did in the evening.

Bear Chaser
07-25-2010, 10:18 AM
How's the offhand practice going? I wasn't trying to make too light of it when you asked before. You need to be able to shoot confidently from offhand positions so that you are ready when split second opportunities arise.
The next best thing to going out actually shooting is dryfiring your rifle, preferably every day leading up to your hunt. Get used to your trigger breaking and the rhythm of your breathing. I find it is also benefical to visualize shot placement on the animal in question when you do this. Picture the exact spot on the animal in a 3-4" circle and try to have the trigger break just as the crosshairs move into it. Put a picture of an elk on the wall if that helps.
Good luck.

Elkaholic
07-25-2010, 10:35 AM
elknut.com

His videos are unreal. He also sells some quality calls.

lunatic
07-25-2010, 11:01 AM
If you do not already have a bugle, the Power Bugle by Elk Inc. is an excellent bugle and very easy to learn to use. Buy a couple of good videos or tapes and practice, practice, practice.

coquitlam
07-25-2010, 11:23 AM
I am a newbie as well , I bought the power bugle and it is quite easy as I bought others and they were much harder to use.

elkhunter1
07-25-2010, 12:45 PM