PDA

View Full Version : Lookint to Beg, Steal or Borrow a Trail Cam.

PointMan
07-12-2010, 11:08 AM
I'm wondering if anyone in the Vernon area (Lumby, Kelowna, Armstrong, etc.) has a spare trail cam I can borrow for this years pre-season, there's a very promising spot I came across a while ago, but it's a bit of a drive and I won't be able to get to it too often before the season opens. I know this might seem like a lot to ask, considering it's an internet forum and I'm fairly new to HBC, but I really don't want to go out and spend 100 bucks on a camera I'm not sure will be used regularly. For what it's worth, if I really like how the cam performs and think I might have future use for it, I may be interested in buying it, assuming the price is reasonable enough.

BlacktailStalker
07-12-2010, 01:02 PM
I find it odd you wouldnt "want" to spend the $ on one but if you borrow one, would you "want to" replace it ?
Just a thought as a LOT get stolen in areas you'd never think... and most certainly even more get smashed by bears...
Best of luck though :cool:

PointMan
07-12-2010, 01:18 PM
I find it odd you wouldnt "want" to spend the $ on one but if you borrow one, would you "want to" replace it ?
Just a thought as a LOT get stolen in areas you'd never think... and most certainly even more get smashed by bears...
Best of luck though :cool:

What you say makes sense, I haven't done much hunting in the last few years and have never used a trail cam at all. So, I really don't know a whole lot about them or the problems related to owning them (being stolen, smashed by bears, etc.). I was raised old school, if you borrow something, it becomes your responsibility, so if it gets broken or stolen, you would be inclined to replace it. I've always considered it a common courtesy, like leaving a cabin like you found it, or better. Of course, I also completely understand anyone not wanting to lend out equipment they paid their hard earned money for, to a complete stranger.