PDA

View Full Version : Broadhead selection

Slinky Pickle
07-03-2010, 07:04 PM
I'm new to bow hunting and am now looking for a broadhead to take either deer or moose with. Although the mechanicals seem pretty cool, I think I would like to go with a standard fixed blade for now.

I was looking at these little devils. Do you guys have any thoughts about them... or about any other tips?

http://ca.wholesalesports.com/storefront/archery/broadheads-points/thunderhead-broadheads/prod96698.html

Coyote
07-03-2010, 08:07 PM
Thunderheads are good broadheads. You might want to think about cut-on-contact heads for moose depending on what kind of bow you are shooting.

'yote

Bow Walker
07-03-2010, 08:13 PM
Broadheads are a "personal preference" kind of thing. Personally, I've had great success with Slick Tricks. I like the 4 blades and I like the bone splitting capabilities of the trocar tip.

Another good one is the Muzzy lineup of heads. Either the MX-3's or the MX-4's....both have the trocar tips on them.

Also there is nothing wrong with the Thunderheads. They've taken their fair share of game, that's for sure.

Slinky Pickle
07-03-2010, 08:34 PM
Thunderheads are good broadheads. You might want to think about cut-on-contact heads for moose depending on what kind of bow you are shooting.

'yote

Well, now I'm looking at these guys. So much to learn !!! :???:

http://ca.wholesalesports.com/storefront/archery/broadheads-points/buckmaster-broadhead/prod257995.html

NaStY
07-03-2010, 09:12 PM
I prefer solid broad heads. As apposed to the ones that open on contact. That way I know where my poi is every time....
JMHO..

huntwriter
07-03-2010, 11:19 PM
I was looking at these little devils. Do you guys have any thoughts about them... or about any other tips?

http://ca.wholesalesports.com/storefront/archery/broadheads-points/thunderhead-broadheads/prod96698.html