PDA

View Full Version : LEH 7-26 horseback question?

BiG Boar
06-21-2010, 07:08 AM
Hi internet folk,
I have got a bull moose shared draw for 7-26. Before the draw though I booked some pack horses to rent for Sept 25-oct 10th. I am thinking of taking the horses to 7-26 and hunting there, we didnt know we would win the draw. I have never done a horseback hunt before but am taking a horse packing course next week, for a week, so hopefully I will be ready. My wife won the grizzly draw so she would be coming too, and she is in on the shared moose hunt. My question is, for people who have hunted the area, will this idea work? Are there trails and places to go far from the madding crowd? I have only done a weekend moose hunt there before, but I am hoping this will work. I just dont want to have quad/major horse/truck conflict issues. Hopefully a few of you will know the area better than me and can answer this question honestly. Thanks, feel free to PM or respond here.

BiG Boar
06-21-2010, 06:10 PM
So no one is hunting 7-26 or has hunted it? Man. Sure sounds remote, hopefully there are plenty of moosies then.

blackbart
06-21-2010, 07:51 PM
Wow, a whole eleven hours and two minutes between asking for some help on an area that you know nothing about and lashing out for a lack of response.

I am sure that there are lots of moose. Not so sure that the MU in question is great horse ground, but I have not hunted in that location to know for sure. Open for correction.

Call me the jerk in this equation, but would one not prefer to research the area, trails etc prior to applying and booking horses? Oh yes, you could have made previous plans and applied on a whim and am now trying to decide 1) Do I change plans and try for the LEH tags so as not to waste the tags or 2) Burn the tags and go with the orig plan that involved horses.

Either way best o luck to you and the missus.

GoatGuy
06-21-2010, 07:55 PM
If taking horses go up north wouldn't bother with 7-26.