PDA

View Full Version : New to hunting - need first rifle

Rub
06-19-2010, 02:22 PM
Hi all

Well I am very new to hunting, and I am looking to purchase my first rifle. I am trying to do my own research so I can go into stores with a bit of an idea what I would want.

I plan on shooting mainly deer, but will have a few opportunities for moose and elk.

I am also wanting to buy something of relatively decent quality - I would like this to be an investment, not just a toy.

Right now I have narrowed down my choices to a Tikka T3 Hunter - 300 wsm (walnut and stainless) and a Browning X-bolt 300 wsm.

I don't have a lot of shooting experience, but I do know I like a bolt action, and I am not afraid of the recoil. I have shot my husbands 45-70, a few different 300's and a 7mm, and I enjoy them all.

just wondering if anyone has any other info that I might want to think about before making a purchase. I am only 5'1'' so size and feel are going to be a huge factor.

Any opinions of info would be appreciated

Thanks,
Kristal

bforce750
06-19-2010, 02:25 PM
Maybe you should ask your husband,he might get offended if you dont :biggrin:

NitwiT
06-19-2010, 02:26 PM
wheres our joke?

Rub
06-19-2010, 02:28 PM
LOL yes he might! He will have a say in this for sure, but I would like to have an idea of what might be good for me as well. Dont want to forget anything I should be considering.

little moose
look at youth models there much shorter even then if there too long you can get your local gunsmith to size it for you

Rub
Joke NitwiT?

bforce750
06-19-2010, 02:31 PM
LOL yes he might! He will have a say in this for sure, but I would like to have an idea of what might be good for me as well. Dont want to forget anything I should be considering.

I would personaly go with the tikka,I have a 300wsm and a 270 wsm,they are affordable and they shoot well,the only downside is the plastic clip.but on the other hand it doesn't make them shoot worse.

tristanmac
06-19-2010, 02:34 PM