PDA

View Full Version : Grizz success in the draw, but not the area I wanted

afors
06-17-2010, 08:27 PM
So... I won a Grizzly tag for 7-40, unfortunately I did not enter for this area. And before you ask, I checked NO for substitute hunt. Regardless somehow they saw fit to award me this draw. So... now I have won this hunt and am not sure what to do.

I put in for Grizzly only in the areas we will be moose hunting and the guys I hunt with are not interested in going for a separate Grizzly hunt. (Especially one so far away). I am not experienced enough to head out on my own yet I hate to waste a draw.

Can I call the ministry and have it re-issued to someone who will use it? I don't want to call if they won't.

I am open to suggestions and advise... not looking for pinheaded criticism or smart a$$ comments.

moosinaround
06-17-2010, 09:07 PM
I am open to suggestions and advise... not looking for pinheaded criticism or smart a$$ comments.[/quote]
Guess I am out of this discussion, I had a good smarta$$ comment too!!!:eek::eek: Moosin

todbartell
06-17-2010, 09:09 PM
Pretty simple, dont buy a tag and dont go gbear hunting in 7-40

Steeleco
06-17-2010, 09:12 PM
At the very least call them and see if they shed some light on how you ended up where you are? It is a shame not to make use of an LEH tag, but sometime stuff happens beyond our control.

todbartell
06-17-2010, 09:17 PM
odds were 0.4:1 in 2009. Likely the same this year. Anybody who wanted that zone got their tag

moosinaround
06-17-2010, 09:20 PM
Long ways away, vehicle restrictions, First Nations issues, makes it tough to attract hunters, specially from the lower mainland!

afors
06-17-2010, 09:35 PM
Thanks, you are a wealth of knowledge, I don't know how that's not wasting a draw though.

Pretty simple, dont buy a tag and dont go gbear hunting in 7-40

boxhitch
06-17-2010, 10:22 PM
You do what you can to make it work
If it can't happen, the paper is worthless, no waste there.