PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in Victoria

The Sand Man
06-11-2010, 04:36 PM
Hello Everybody,

I’m a newbie to shooting and hunting. I was born in Russia, but grew up in Canada, I currently live in Victoria studying at UVic. I’m midway through the waiting period of my PAL/RPAL application. A few months ago, my friend talked me into getting my PAL with him. Unfortunately, he is far more interested in handgun sports; whereas, I’m leaning towards hunting, hiking, and outdoor recreation activities.

I’m joined this forum to learn from people more local to my area, about hunting, regulations, and advice. For now, I’m interested in varmint hunting, and in the future, small game and foul. I’ve purchased a Savage Mark II F rife (bolt action, .22LR , Iron sights, waiting at the gun store), and looking to do some target practice, plinking and also crow, rabbit and grey squirrel hunting.

Later on, I’ll likely purchase a Savage 93R17 FV .17HMR and a hunting shotgun for small game, foul, and varmint hunting.

I have a few questions that, perhaps, some of you would kindly address:

- As I understand, there are no hunting restrictions on crows, rabbits and grey squirrels.
- Hunting can only be done on crown land, where is it, and where does it start???
- What are good resources of information, maps, laws…

I would also appreciate if anybody could suggest some websites or books. I’ve struggled to find any hunting books or websites specific to Vancouver Island. As a complete newbie, I would appreciate any information! I’ll likely post more detailed questions in the Vancouver Island forum.

As I have read, it is customary for me to include a joke...