PDA

View Full Version : Beetles for Skull Cleaning

pupper
05-16-2010, 01:00 PM
Hi folks,

Anyone out there have or know someone with beetles for skull cleaning?

If so post up some info,

Cheers.

Wild Images
05-16-2010, 01:53 PM
I have some :-D

drivintrucks_shootinbucks
05-16-2010, 02:01 PM
where does one go about finding beetles? i am just getting into cleaning skulls for myself and am gonna try both beetles and boiling see which one i like best

natebavis
05-16-2010, 05:07 PM
Hey pupper if you go on "hunting tips and tricks" website (free to join) justin ott has a very informative method of how to make a good skull mount . Check it out

Nate

pupper
05-16-2010, 10:05 PM
Hey pupper if you go on "hunting tips and tricks" website (free to join) justin ott has a very informative method of how to make a good skull mount . Check it out
Nate

haha thanks Nate!, I am trying to use beetles to keep the mass of the skull as I clean it prior to being measured for the B&C book. Boiling works great for making a nice looking skull but it does shrink the skull. Plus I dont think I can find a big enough pot to boil this sucker in.

Monashee
05-16-2010, 10:22 PM
Find a place out in the yard away from where dogs can get at it . Get some fresh horse manure put some hay under the skull then cover with manure then cover with a couple inches of hay , leave for 2 months . Done

dutchie
05-17-2010, 12:29 AM

Nate
HAHAHA

Sorry Bro I have to Laugh...

Pupper is the owner of the "hunting tips and tricks" site IIRC... It is some good PR for him tho!!!

Cheers

Dutchie

Pete
05-17-2010, 04:51 AM
you are looking for dermestid beetles. There are several sites out there that sell kits to get you started. Nasty little critters. Can clean off a bear skull in a couple of days. You do not want them to escape, fur, head mounts, rugs, wool sweaters they eat them all.

2x4x16
05-17-2010, 07:14 AM